August 21, 2013

Mississippi Enhanced Carry Permit

DeSoto Rifle & Pistol Club is proud to offer training classes for the Mississippi Enhanced Carry Permit, as approved by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety Firearm Permit Unit.

General Information

  • Please check the Calendar for the up to date schedule of classes for the Mississippi Enhanced Carry Permit course.
  • Length:  1 day – 8:30 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Cost:  $85.00
  • Class size:  12 maximum
  • Prerequisites: N/A
  • Restrictions:  Open to all students, including non-members of DeSoto Rifle & Pistol Club.  In accordance with ITAR regulations, only US Citizens are allowed to participate in DR&PC training courses.

Registration

  • Please register and pay online at Eventbrite, our trusted event management and payment processor.
  • Please contact the Director of Activities from the Contact page for more information.
  • DeSoto Rifle & Pistol Club will be happy to schedule a private class session for your organization or group.

Private/Group Classes

We will train large groups together.  If you have a large group and are interested in taking our Enhanced Carry course, we can accomodate you!  Please contact our Director of Activities and let us know how many and when you’re looking to train.

Course Description

As required by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, the one-day class will consist of classroom study and practical shooting exercises. All training occurs at the DR&PC range complex in Como, MS. Upon successful completion of this course, attendees will receive the certificate required to obtain the “IC” endorsement for their Mississippi state-issued firearms permit. All classroom materials are included in the registration cost. Classes will begin promptly at 8:30 AM and typically end between 4:30 – 5:00 PM. Students will on their own for lunch, feel free to bring lunch or venture into Como, Sardis, Senatobia or Batesville for a quick bite to eat.

Equipment

  • Pistol or revolver suitable for concealed carry usage in an appropriate self-defense caliber (.38 Special or .357 Magnum in revolver or .380 ACP, 9 mm, .40  S&W, 10 mm or .45 ACP in semi-auto)
  • Two magazines for your semi-auto pistol or two speed loaders for your revolver
  • 50 – 100 rounds of appropriate practice (target) ammunition for class (50 is required, though in some classes extra time is available for additional practice)
  • Eye and ear protection
  • You will not be drawing from a holster in this class

Helpful links

Enhanced Carry Permit Information

In Mississippi, any legal resident that passes a background check can typically obtain a concealed carry permit. An “enhanced” endorsement to the normal carry permit has also been made available to otherwise qualified concealed carry permit applicants who have taken a training course from an authorized instructor. You can obtain the enhanced endorsement for an existing, valid, Mississippi concealed carry permit by submitting proof of class completion to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety Firearm Permit Unit at one of the listed firearms permit offices. If you do not currently have a Mississippi concealed carry permit, you can obtain the normal permit and the enhanced endorsement at the same time when you submit your application, including proof of completion of class completion. There is no extra fee or other paperwork required to obtain the enhanced status other than submitting proof of class completion. With the enhanced endorsement added to our permit you are able to legally carry your concealed pistol or revolver into many more locations in the state of Mississippi. The enhanced endorsement does not apply to any states that offer reciprocity for Mississippi concealed carry permit holders.

Check state laws for other states at handgunlaw.us or USA Carry